San Jose: a mini LA?

16 11 2006

I’ve been living in San Jose for about 3 months now, never really doing much IN San Jose. I’ve always went back home to Hayward or in the Fremont/Newark area. I’ve always thought of San Jose as a 3rd-rate city, but seeing how much it’s developed in a few years I could see it becoming one of the fastest growing cities in California, if it’s not already.

On the way back from badminton training tonight, I took the 87 freeway that bisects through downtown San Jose. It’s one of the nicest freeways in terms of views, with all the new high-rise buildings that are new or in construction. I exited San Carlos and drove around downtown for a bit. The Market area is really nice, somewhere you could just walk around and sightsee. It has changed a lot since the last time I went through that area. It doesn’t even look like the same place!

I passed by the Tech Museum. We took a field trip to the Tech Museum back in elementary school, but that was before it was renovated and redesigned. It was amazing back then to me as a kid, and I’m sure it will be amazing to me now after all its improvements.

Since it’s almost Thanksgiving and the holiday season is near, they were setting up the Christmas decoration in a park. According to the San Jose Downtown website, “Christmas in the Park” is set up annually during the holiday season and attracts almost 500,000 visitors. And there will also be a skating rink in the middle of downtown. Wow. I might spend more time in the downtown area this coming holiday season.

This summer I was reading on the newspaper about the downtown development that has been ongoing for a few years now. They’re planning on attracting more people to the city to boost the city’s economy. Now I can really see all the work that has been done so far, with all the buildings in construction and the new look of the downtown area. I regret not spending more time here in San Jose. The city has a feel that’s unique, sort of a mix between New York, for the classic style of some buildings, and LA for its new high-rises and its avenues lined with palm trees.

I’m definitely planning on spending time in the downtown area in the near future. It’s unlikely that I’ll be able to spend Christmas in New York, which is something I’ve always wanted to do, but Christmas in San Jose can be a good alternative.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

