How to Reset a Frozen iPod

29 11 2006

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

So this evening I was listening to my iPod while I was on the road. This one song pops up, Sung Si Kyung’s “Happy Birthday to You.” It’s a pretty nice song, but I wasn’t in the mood to listen to it so I pressed next. It took me a few seconds to realize that the audio turned and I wasn’t listening to the next song as I had wished. It turns out my iPod froze, with the screen all lit up. No matter what I did it wouldn’t turn off and the screen wouldn’t change at all. I thought it was bricked. Quite ironic given the song on the screen, my birthday is coming up, and my iPod was a birthday present from my parents last year. A triple hit combo.


But wait! When I got back to the apartment, I took out the iPod and it was still on. With the “Happy Birthday to You” screen shining bright at me, I searched for how to reset my frozen iPod. I found this link from Apple’s Support page.

To reset an iPod with a Click Wheel, including:

  1. Toggle the Hold switch on and off. (Slide it to Hold, then turn it off again.)
  2. Press and hold the Menu and Center (Select) buttons until the Apple logo appears, about 6 to 10 seconds. You may need to repeat this step.

I followed those steps at got my iPod to work again! I love this thing!

Link: Apple Support 

Actions

Information

One response

30 11 2006
Kerosene

I have to do this to my Nano about once a week. I’m really lazy about “ejecting” it when it’s connected to my PC, so I’m guessing that’s what causes the crashes in my case. Doesn’t seem to happen with my old 4G iPod though.

Leave a Reply

